FACE Auditorium
3449, University st.
(McGill Metro )
Phone: (514) 695-5919
Fax : (514) 350-2612
E-mail : osface@gmail.com


This site was designed by:

Updates by:
Tammy Lynn Déry

 

 
Objectives | Conductor | Guest artists | FACE Chamber Orchestra

Theodora Stathopoulos is the recipient of the 2006 Prime Minister's Award for Teaching Excellence - one of two Canadian music teachers to receive the award in 2006 and the only one from the province of Quebec. As well, in 2007, she was awarded both the Annual Achievement Award from the Business and Professional Women of Montreal and the Diplôme d'Honneur from the Hellenic Community of Montreal.

Ms. Stathopoulos has been a music specialist at FACE (Fine Arts Core Education) School in Montreal, Quebec since 1992, and became head of its string department in 2000. Since that time, musical ensembles under her direction have won many distinctions and awards including national prizes at Musicfest and Kiwanis Music Festivals and the Wilfred Harvey Award for Best Small Ensemble (2003) and Christopher Gledhill Award for Best Orchestra (2005) both awarded by the Canadian Music Educators Association. An active music educator since 1978 in various school boards, she collaborates regularly with the Music Education Department of the Université de Québec à Montréal (UQAM) in their teacher training Program. She has also been a reviewer for the Quebec Ministry of Education, serves on various national and provincial music and art education steering committees and is President of the Quebec Music Educators Association.

A regular contributor to the Canadian Music Educators' Journal, she has been an invited presenter for performing student ensembles at the International Society's for Music Education (ISME) Conference (Tenerife, 2004) and the United Nations' World Conference on Climate Change (Montreal, 2005) as well as panelist at the Greek Society's for Music Education Conference (Lamia, 2005 & Thessalonika, 2007), UNESCO's World Conference on Art Education (Lisbon, 2006), National Arts & Learning Symposium (Ottawa, 2007) and Resonant Learning Symposium on Arts, Children & Youth in a Multicultural Setting (Toronto, 2007).

Auditorium FACE
3449, rue Université
(Métro McGill)
Tél.: (514) 695-5919
Fax : (514) 350-2612
Courriel : osface@gmail.com


Réalisation du site web:

Mises à jour:
Tammy Lynn Déry

 

 
Objectifs | Chef d'orchestre | Artistes invité(e)s | Orchestre de chambre FACE

Theodora Stathopoulos a été l’une de seulement deux professeurs de musique canadiens – et la seule Québécoise – à voir son travail récompensé par le Prix du Premier ministre pour l’excellence dans l’enseignement en 2006. De plus, elle recevait en 2007 le Prix annuel d’accomplissement des Business and Professional Women of Montréal et le Diplôme d’honneur de la communauté hellénique de Montréal.

Mme Stathopoulos enseigne la musique à l’école FACE (Fine Arts Core Education) de Montréal depuis 1992 et est devenue chef du département des cordes en 2000. Depuis, des ensembles musicaux ont remporté sous sa direction nombre de prix et distinctions, dont des prix nationaux au Musicfest et aux Festivals de musique Kiwanis, ainsi que le Prix Wilfred Harvey pour meilleur petit ensemble (2003) et le Prix Christopher Geldhill pour meilleur orchestre (2005), prix décernés par l’Association des Éducateurs de Musique du Canada. Particulièrement active depuis 1978 auprès de nombre de regroupements scolaires, elle collabore régulièrement avec le département d’éducation musicale de l’Université du Québec à Montréal (UQÀM) dans le cadre de leur programme de soutien aux futurs professeurs. Elle a aussi été critique pour le Ministère de l’éducation du Québec et siège sur nombre de comités nationaux et provinciaux dédiés à la musique et à l’éducation artistique. Elle est la présidente de l’Association Éducateurs de Musique du Québec.

Elle écrit régulièrement pour la publication Musicien éducateur au Canada et a été invitée à présenter des ensembles étudiants à la conférence de la Société internationale pour l’éducation musicale (Tenerife, 2004) et à la conférence sur les changements climatiques de l’ONU (Montréal, 2005). Elle a aussi été panéliste à la conférence pour l’éducation musicale de la Société grecque (Lamia, 2005 et Thessalonique, 2007), à la conférence internationale de l’UNESCO sur l’éducation artistique (Lisbonne, 2006), au symposium Arts & Apprentissage (Ottawa, 2007) et au Resonant Learning Symposium on Arts, Children & Youth in a Multicultural Setting (Toronto, 2007).